• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Should CT be decoupled from the 3rd Imperium?

When I started playing Traveller, I created my own sector. I went with 3x3. Imagine my consternation when GDW said "hey, it's 4x4 silly". Well, to this day, MTU still uses 3x3 sectors. Didn't have a lot of money in college, so MTU was the only way to go if I wanted to play (well, referee mostly). What is this "Third Imperium" you speak of? :)

I like the Imperium setting but of course do my own take of it. I start around the "time" of the LBBs; 1106 or so.

Starships larger than 5000 tons exist but they're "non-starship characters" which are seen in the background only.

And what is this Rebellion, Virus of which you speak? ;)

Not quite.
The tropes in the CT 77 rulebook are based on the sci fi of the literature MWM read.
The Imperium was then based on those tropes (although there is some fudging)
You were encouraged to design your own setting.

Now using the tropes in CT 77 you can come up with the Imperium, or an entirely different setting.

Frankly, I really don't see what the repeated hooplah is about.

If you want a traveller-style system without the 3i setting, then either use the Cepheus Engine for a more recent gaming system, or remove/ignore the 3i material in the LBBs, and use the basic CT gaming system sans 3i.

If you don't like the character generation using the 3i, swap that out for something more to your taste; scout characters don't HAVE to be imperial careers, they could be something else completely, same applies to the other career choices for player characters.

IYTU, after all. There is absolutely NO rule REQUIRING you to use the supplied setting, is there now?

CE has the same tropes as CT since it was built on the MgT 1e SRD and MgT 1e was built designed with the same tropes as CT :)