• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

What do you want in a Java Traveller Chargen App?

Tod13

SOC-5
I'm a professional software developer (20+ years), and I've been learning JavaFX 8 by working on writing Classic Traveller apps for creating characters.

It appears I can release these for free, under Marc Miller/FFE's Fair Use Policy. I've got the careers for Book 1 and Supplement 4 working. I almost have Book 4 Mercenaries complete.

Before releasing, I want to do some refactoring to make things easier to maintain and debug. And to make the code less embarrassing. ;)

What does everyone want in a Traveller Character Generator application?

Do you want a single app for both Book 1/Supplement 4 and Book 4 Mercenaries, or would you prefer the "simple" careers to be kept separate from the more complex/complete careers? The later books create characters so different from the simple careers, I tend to use one set of careers or the other, but not both.

If I were to write versions in C++, what GUI library would people prefer?

If this were made available via GitHub, with a more obvious link to the compiled JAR files than most projects provide, is this acceptable to most folks? I won't promise to accept pull requests, but I will, when time permits, look at them.

If someone wanted to use this as a basis for an Android app, I would be interested in what needs to be modified in the code to make it more usable for both, once I release the code.

From reading other threads, it sound like there is a desire for:

1. Exports at the end both as XML usable by other applications and as a PDF or something else usable by humans. The XML will come with a schema for validation.