• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Look, a Snub Pistol...

In theory, our (more lethal) snub pistols should be able to achieve that with gas pellets.

As with gause pistols, the gas could be included in the clip.

Snub means short, i.e. snub-nosed = short barrel, i.e. low muzzle velocity.

There is nothing intrinsically non-lethal about the Snub Pistol, it does more damage and penetrates better than a regular revolver with explosive ammo (4D damage). It can fire Tranq, but so can a rifle... It's still a conventional gun-powder gun.

LBB4, p37:
Skärmavbild 2023-09-27 kl. 09.35.png

I guess we could build it today, it would just be banned by the Geneva Convention (explosive ammo).

It leverages that, but moreso the ten millimetre calibre.

Since I'm not a ballistics expert, I can't judge how much damage a seven gramme bullet does at one hundred fifty metres per second.

As regards to pistol versus revolver, it would depend on intended purpose.

There is nothing intrinsically non-lethal about the Snub Pistol, it does more damage and penetrates better than a regular revolver with explosive ammo (4D damage). It can fire Tranq, but so can a rifle... It's still a conventional gun-powder gun.

LBB4, p37:
View attachment 3935

I guess we could build it today, it would just be banned by the Geneva Convention (explosive ammo).
I treat that round as sort of a mini-grenade launcher, often stick a HEAT round on SMGs or the like.

I have a near Earth future setting so Geneva still matters. Strictly used for breaching, so the war crimes courts are told.

I have an extra nasty extralegal round based on the APHE concept. Higher pen and extra damage.

So the question would be, if at the stated technological level, the snub ten millimetre bullet can act as a delivery vehicle for the listed ammunition/payload.